PDA

View Full Version : Do I have anxiety?

withe1982
12-23-2013, 04:54 AM
Hi,

Just registered with the forum and hope I can get a bit of help with my symptoms.

I'm a 33 year old male and have been exhibiting differing symptoms for 20 months now.

I work full time as a graphic designer and have a pretty normal social/family life. Around 2 years ago my wife went through a bit of a health scare and I took it pretty badly. Thankfully she's 100% now and life is great. Not long after I has an attack. My heart-rate shot up and stayed at a very, very high rate for around 2-3 hours. It happened again and I went to my local A&E and they did an ECG and all was normal although my blood pressure was "sky High". Had to take a week off work and just slept the whole week away.

Since then I've had the same symptoms off and on. They are:

Dizziness: extreme in some cases where I feel like passing out
Aversion to fluorescent lights: When I'm feeling bad I cannot go into a shop with fluorescent lights as I WOULD pass out.
Bloodshot and sore eyes.
Feeling of everything being very bright
altered perception: not being able to recognise objects for a few seconds.
coldness in hands and feet
feeling flushed
increased heart rate and slight palpitations (very rarely)

I'm otherwise healthy. a little overweight but I'm sleeping and eating OK. My libido is fine and dandy and I'm generally a very happy person. Have a lot of great things in my life but this illness is starting to take it's toll on me.

I've visited my GP about 10 times in the last 20 months with the same symptoms and been given anti dizziness tablets (can't remember the name) which did nothing at all. Then switched to anti-depressants for a month that didn't really seem to make a difference although I'm not 100 sure. I've just been given Sertraline (50mg) which I started yesterday.

Does any of this ring a bell with other sufferers? I just want to be able to pin down what is wrong with me so I can start to tackle the problem.