PDA

View Full Version : Can't get past my anxiety

NZER
12-07-2013, 09:09 PM
Hi everyone

It's my first time here. I am 29 years old. Am so sick of my social anxiety i am really at the end of my patience with it and feel so upset.
Whenever there is a social function coming up even if it is weeks away i get worried and nervous and end up feeling so sick leading up to and after the event. I feel like everyone is constantly judging everything i say so i end up not saying much and looking like a snob. I feel like this on and off. If it is my work collegues i am fine unless i have to stand in front of them all and talk and then i get shaky and go red. If it is my husbands friends i just clam up and end up looking so awkward. i am a nice person and feel like i have so much to give but i don't make new friends very easily and feel like i can't meet my full potential because of my fears on how people see me.
Some days i can't go to the supermarket or into town worried that i might see someone i know.
i have been to counselling and have been given tools to deal with social situations but it doesn't work, I end up feeling extremely nervous and quite often i will drink way to much so that i end up not caring what anyone thinks, which i know is not the right way to deal with it.
I really don't know what to do anymore, i'm sick of feeling like this as it is exhausting and i am worried that when we have a family i am going to pass these bad thoughts on to my children which makes me really upset because i want them to be happy, confident people and not have to feel like this.
Any suggestions?

embrace123
12-07-2013, 09:40 PM
You should maybe try and get on a med

AmberGbenga
12-08-2013, 02:24 AM