PDA

View Full Version : Fluttering/pulsating sensation when falling asleep and waking up

JamesH1989
12-07-2013, 10:22 AM
Hello everyone, this is my first time posting here. I've had a panic disorder since June of this year and forums like these have helped me calm down a lot of my symptoms just by knowing people have suffered from similar things. However I've been combing the internet all night and morning (I haven't slept in almost 24 hours) and can't find anything similar to what I'm experiencing lately.

For the past two weeks whenever I am on the precipice of sleep, or right when I wake up, I have a really fast pulsating sensation in my chest/neck/stomach/back (it's hard for me to pinpoint where it is because I'm usually out of it when it happens.) Normally this would lead to heart-related concerns, but I take my pulse and it's nowhere near that fast and I had a ton of tests run on my heart to give me peace of mind a few weeks ago.

The only symptoms I've been having lately that go along with it is really sharp upper back pain, and my stomach has been really messed up for about a month now (GERD, irregular bowel movements, no appetite.)

Anyone ever have anything like this? I haven't been able to sleep today because this is scaring the crap out of me every time I drift off.

artaud
12-07-2013, 11:14 AM
Hmm. Ever consider a Sleep Study and 24 Hour EEG (not EKG)?

The 24 Hour EEG, you look like a spaceman when they put it on you and you go home, multicolored leads whose ends are glued to your head. I had problems that weren't discovered by regular or sleep deprived EEGs.

At least they will Rule Out other problems.

cdfrank
12-07-2013, 01:25 PM