PDA

View Full Version : Hello new to this!

hoax87
12-02-2013, 09:32 AM
Hi, my name is anthony and have just recently started suffering from really bad anxiety and panic attacks.

Im 26, have a good career and a great home life with my girlfriend and my dog, Im a shift engineer working on a 4 on 4 off system and have been doing so for the last year and a half.

I have always been a worrier and over thinker but just recently that has taken a nasty turn in the form of these sustained periods of anxiety, edge of panic and upset stomach. Which has in turn sent me into being rather withdrawn, usually im the loud outgoing person who always enjoys a good laugh.

I have been to the doctors and he pescribed me with meds (fluoxetine) 20ml and have been taking them now for 5 days. Being told that this is what i have by a doctor has hit me hard for some reason, as i cant seem to put a finger on what may have caused all this to trigger off. Obviously its early days on the meds and im not expecting anything to change until at least after christmas, all i have had so far is a sick feeling and weird burping.

Can i just say its nice to see and read everyone sharing issues etc, its nice not to feel isolated in something that looks to have a hold of so many.

If any one has any recommendations about how to cope and possibly relax i am all ears as at the moment this is making me feel like im going slightly mad and pretty low.

Thanks for listening (reading)

Ant

enrapture
12-03-2013, 07:55 AM
Hi Anthony, I find talking to close friends & relatives about it helps me cope. Don't ever feel like you're going through it alone.
Is your work stressing you out? Fifo isn't easy and maybe it's starting to take a toll on you now..

alankay
12-03-2013, 08:04 AM
Ant, have you talked with a therapist to try and find a source for your anxiety?