PDA

View Full Version : Can Anxiety turn into Schizphrenia?

Howdy
01-22-2008, 04:41 PM
My mom says if I don't take medicine for Anxiety it can turn into Schizophernia is this true?

Alexcambridge
01-22-2008, 06:02 PM
I'm not an expert - far from it! But I would say no, not unless you have are already considered 'at risk' of getting schizophrenia.

She may just be scared for you and want to you to get treatment. Of course saying stuff like that is totally counterproductive.

bio
01-22-2008, 08:49 PM
experts says, every person has 1% chance to be schizophrenic,
3% chances if our your parent is schizophrenia sufferer.

based on my random observation,
anxiety sufferer don't get it.

be assured that it will not develop to schizophrenia.

and of course my advice to all anxiety sufferers(to remind myself as well),
learn some more coping skills and practice it.
who knows, practice make perfect.

do somethings that you enjoy much.

RabidBadger
01-23-2008, 04:16 AM
Anxiety and schizophrenia are completely separate and unrelated - although it is quite common for anxiety sufferers to worry or obsess about their anxiety turning into some kind of serious mental disorder or psychotic condition.

Chris

Robbed
01-24-2008, 07:14 AM
Anxiety and schizophrenia are completely separate and unrelated - although it is quite common for anxiety sufferers to worry or obsess about their anxiety turning into some kind of serious mental disorder or psychotic condition.

Chris

Exactly. You might become REALLY, REALLY, REALLY scared that it will happen. The fear might be SO intense that you feel like you will hear voices at ANY instant. But guess what? It never does.

Frazzle
01-24-2008, 07:21 AM
i know that this is sort of unrealted

but does anyone else ever daydream that they have a worst problem because they're ashamed that they have anxiety?