PDA

View Full Version : Compulsively biting the inside of my cheeks

trinidiva
10-17-2013, 07:26 AM
Ever since I was a child, I had a bad habit of chewing the inside of my cheeks. I would do it all the time and in some strange way, it was comforting to me. My childhood dentist told me to stop...that it could maybe cause cancer down the road but still over the years, I havent fully been able to stop. Sometimes when I catch myself doing it, I will stop myself now....but now I'm worrying myself to death about mouth cancer. I've done research and haven't found that it can cause cancer but more about it building calloused skin in that area, which it has for me. I am now putting it together that this could truly be categorized as OCD behavior. Dont know why the light bulb just went on today......
Does anyone else do this or something similar?

jayj404
10-17-2013, 07:46 AM
I do the same thing lol. I have a lot of mouths tics. Now, i'm not a doctor, but I don't think that it is a problem unless you bleed when you do it. When I do it, I just bite the outside layers of skin. If you do it to the point of bleed,ing you could easily get an infection. It's really easy to get in infections in your mouth. If you do end up getting an infection, and if you leave it untreated it can spread to your throat.

trinidiva
10-17-2013, 08:08 AM
I don't typically bit to the point of bleeding....but I think this last one was a little deeper than normal and may of taken off a little skin. Oh goodness....what happens when the infection spreads to your throat? They must treat it with antibiotics, right?

NeverToo...Fear
10-17-2013, 11:25 AM