PDA

View Full Version : Newbie needs advice

blondie23
09-21-2013, 01:27 PM
HI guys, I'm new to this thread. I'm glad I found a community with other people going through what I am.

So I have had anxiety all my life.. Have gone up and down continuously with depression. In dec of last year I hit complete rock bottom. I was extremely anxious.. Panic attacks all the time. Suicide was all over my mind but I continued to fight it because three years ago, my 20 year old cousin committed. I'm 22 now.. Will be 23 in February.

I went to a psychologist in dec last year and continuing to go. It helps here and there.. But sometimes I hate going because I don't feel like my guards down all the way.

Two months later I was referred to a psychiatrist. Love her. She's very intelligent and knows what she's doing. Since I met her. I started lexapro at 5mg.. Then 10mg.. Still didn't feel great. Depression subsided but then I was extremely anxious all the time. So she gave me ativan at 5mg and can go up to 1.5 mg in one day. It helps but only temporary. She increased my lex to 15mg. No attacks but anxiety and limp in the throat. Then went up to 20mg. That's where I am now. Have been on that for two months. These two months have been horrible. I'm in a graduate school program and having a hard time managing everything. Recently I have a hard time concentrating. No lump in the throat.. But I feel flat. I can't express my emotions. I have a wonderful fiancé and were doing great. Except the occasional emotional break down. I cried for the first time a few weeks ago in a while felt good. I want to cry now to let my emotions out but feel stuck. I am happy inside for everything that's going on.. Happy to be in my last two heard of school to get my masters and work. Excited in getting married. Excited for our new apartment in three weeks. But don't feel I express it well. I don't know what to do.