PDA

View Full Version : Advice please...

needs_advice
11-25-2007, 11:54 PM
Hello, everyone.

I am currently a graduate student who is pretty close to getting my degree. Im doing fairly well in school. Recently, however, I've started to feel really anxious about everything related to school/work, particularly teaching a class that's assigned to me (as part of the program). I've been getting panic attacks, and just really dread going in there, despite the fact that I've taught several times already. My anxiety is causing me to feel very depressed too. I feel mentally and emotionally drained. On top of that, I can feel my body slowly wearing down from all the stress and anxiety. I'm afraid if I push myself some more, I will only get worse. I've been seeing a counselpr and I am now on meds--small dose of elevin to help me sleep and buspirone for my anxiety/depression.

I think the only way I can do so is to take some time off...maybe take a semester off of school to just relax and take the pressure off. I'm not sure if I am making the right decision. Any advice?

Thanks.

RabidBadger
11-26-2007, 04:12 AM
Hi

There are two ways of looking at it...

If you feel that you need time off to sort your anxiety out then take it. Your recovery has to become your number 1 priority and I know from my own experience that trying to hold a stressful job is not conducive to this recovery.

On the other hand, once you take time off, you may find it very hard to get yourself back to work/studies.

People like Paul Mckenna produce some very good relaxation and self-confidence self-help CDs. Maybe these would help?

Chris

RichB
11-26-2007, 07:02 AM
It's very common for anxiety to start about your age. I wouldn't get into the pattern of accommodating it. When I was younger I took time off from school because of my anxiety and it was very difficult to go back. Don't let anxiety start making your decisions.