PDA

View Full Version : Work and Anxiety

KP33
09-17-2013, 05:35 AM
How does anxiety affect work life? I have always managed to just about cope for a few months but tend to have break downs and taking sick days every now and again. I work in a customer service position which I think makes my anxiety worse. I would love to break out of this line of work but without experience I don't know how to get myself into something more suitable. I tend to take work home in my mind and its turning into a constant nightmare in my mind.

onebreathatatime
09-17-2013, 05:49 AM
I have trouble with my job as well. I work in a hospital (which is my biggest fear) and I often take sick days too. Today is actually my first day back after being off for 7 days. I hit plateau's with my meds which makes it very difficult because then I am back at square one and have to work my way back to where I was. It's really frustrating!

simong
09-17-2013, 06:31 AM
I've been off on the sick for 3 weeks with it. I'm fortunate in that my employer is supportive & there is a full pay policy up to 2 months accumulative. I have been completely debilitated by this I'm hoping to get some strength back, go back to work and manage it as best I can. I feel for people who have not got paid sick I don't know how they cope.

KP33
09-17-2013, 12:44 PM
I was a care assistant for many years and I also found that that line of work took its toll and so I can see how nursing may affect your anxiety. Thanks both of you for sharing. I just feel like Im trying to get through each day and Im always on the verge of collapse.

raggamuffin
09-17-2013, 12:59 PM
I work in CS myself. In an office environment it's important to take your breaks outside. Get the sunlight and fresh air and exercise from walks. If you do feel stressed and your manager's konw about your anxiety ask to take 5.

Don't chug on too much, if any coffee or tea. Often people in offices live off the stuff - it doesn't help and will make you feel more on edge.