PDA

View Full Version : Anxiety and taking medicine

jloca215
09-04-2013, 12:25 PM
I hate taking meds as I am extremely sensitive to everything I put in my body. The only thing I take is my lexapro daily which I've been doing for 11 years and an occasional Tylenol or motin for headaches. I've been suffering from a horrible tonsil infection for weeks now and I finished one course of antibiotics with no relief so they put me on a new one plus a steroid. I've been hesitant to start them since I've never taken this type of antibiotic before (clindamycin). I wasn't scared to take the other because it was penicillin and I've had that as a child with no problems. But I'm in so much pain I wanna get better so I popped one about 2 hours ago and idk if its my nerves or what but Ive been flushing and hot. I'm so scared of having an anaphylactic reaction! Now I definitely don't wanna try the steroids! Help

leighlee
09-04-2013, 11:13 PM
How are you doing? The steroid will help with the pain. The physician that perscribed it know about your anxiety?

mrsmischief
09-04-2013, 11:27 PM
I befriended my pharmacist because my anxiety is so bad. When ever i was given a new med i would have racing thoughts telling me my body was going to have a bad reaction but really it was my anxiety causing me all the extra discomfort. So i text my pharmacist for reassurance fairly often and he's never let me down. If the first round of antibiotics didn't work then you definitely want to take that steroid. You'll be perfectly fine, its the pharmacies job to make sure your medications wont react to each other. Just take deep breaths. I tend to browse Reddit r/aww till i feel better. But trust me, the medications wont be bad at all compared to your current pain. I had a bad case of strep last year.

jloca215
09-04-2013, 11:54 PM