PDA

View Full Version : New to this

Collegeboy95
09-02-2013, 11:17 PM
Hi! I'm new to this so please bare with me. I just turned 18 years old and have been recently diagnosed with anxiety. This summer has been the absolute worst time of my life. I never really suffered from anxiety, other than the minimal stress to do good in school which I handled quite well. My parents got a divorce during my Junior year and I did not mind. My father wasn't the best and said very hurtful things but I never let it get to me. In fact, I was able to brush off everything that happened to me and I even had a "care free" attitude. After I graduated high school, I made a reckless decision that I thought I would have never done. I put myself through an HIV scare, something no one should have to go through. I cried everyday and had anxiety attacks about the "what ifs." How will I handle the result of positive? How will I tell my family? Is life worth it? It got very ugly and I felt alone. My anxiety was so high that I wanted to go get tested everyday. Whenever the result came back as "negative" I always told myself that I wasn't and that the next time it would change. Well, after being told by many doctors that my result was conclusive, I finally believed that I was negative. My life started to get back on track and I was getting back to my normal self. I was still on track to leave at the end of August to go to college in San Diego. Well, during one sleepless night, I watched a documentary and scared myself into thinking I was like the people they were talking about. (I don't want to say what it is, it is too embarrassing.) I finally went to see a therapist who assured me I wasn't what I thought but that I did have anxiety and referred me to a psychologist to be put on medication. I was prescribed Prozac but I have not taken any because my mother does not want to me go on it. (My brother has intrusive thoughts, OCD, and anxiety. He "sees" scary things and some even call him schizophrenic