PDA

View Full Version : Please help. . .

Timisbananajoe
10-12-2007, 08:12 PM
I've never written in a forum before, but I need help. . . I'm not even sure if I have anxiety. . I am a 26 year old male and I worry. . . ALL OF THE TIME. . . Everyday when I leave work, I think that I've made mistakes (saying something inappropriate, not turning something off, etc.) When my coworkers don't say "Hi!" with a big smile, I start imagining things: maybe I'm in trouble with the boss? Maybe they're mad at me? Maybe I did something wrong? Maybe I bother them? Maybe I ask too many questions? The thing is. . . I've never said anything wrong, made anyone mad, or anything even close. . . but I start imagining things. . . I make up these weird scenarios in my head where I alter reality. I actually say "Hi! Good morning!" But I imagine that I said "How the hell are you?" When I leave the house in the morning, I think I've left the lights on. . . I think I forgot to lock the doors. . . It is driving me crazy. I am scared all of the time. . . I think I'm in trouble or that I'm going to get fired. I need help. Please.

V for Victor
10-12-2007, 09:20 PM
I think you've answered your own question. You DO have anxiety. Everything you've described is classic of anxiety, and Obsessive Compulsive Disorder. (That's what I have.)

The good news is that you're most certainly not alone. Millions of people feel the way you do, including me. As hard as it is to imagine at first, this is not a problem with who you are as a person, and it's not a life-sentence. Anxiety is treatable with or without medication, and it can be overcome and controlled.

Do take this test for Obsessive Compulsive Disorder from the University of Hamburg: http://www.mhsanctuary.com/tests/ocdtest.htm

I've linked to this test a lot on here, and the reactions are generally the same. People are shocked at how much the test enlightens them about themselves.