PDA

View Full Version : High-strung/neurotic/I cannot calm down-does anyone else have these tendencies?

serendipity34
07-19-2013, 06:27 PM
I'm a high-strung individual.

I'm a college sophomore who's essentially incapable of maintaining too many close relationships. If I say one wrong thing, I will panic and freak out-pacing, heart racing, OCDing as if I've taken an amphetamine. So I just appear cold to most because I keep my distance, even though I try to be friendly. It's usually short-lived. I've dropped English classes because they're discussion-based, and I'm terrified of sharing my opinion in a group setting. It has never happened voluntarily, I'll tell you that. I hardly even require sleep, and I'm continually restless. I don't sit still. Even if I seem like I'm functioning, I sometimes find my myself somewhat nauseated in social situations. I'm healthy and workout some, but I can wake up with a resting pulse of 100-175. I struggle with eye contact. Most don't really see the anxiety unless I state it directly, but it's always there; they just assume I'm sort of cold/aloof. I was agoraphobic as a kid and had an eating disorder as well as pretty regular panic attacks, and though this isn't a problem now, I still struggle with anxiety/depression.