PDA

View Full Version : Hello! (Long post)

KB123
06-27-2013, 04:14 PM
Hey all, long time reader, first time poster!

I should start by saying my anxiety revolves around my heart. I'm a student, 22 years old, 175cm and around 70kg (have lost a bit due to anxiety and loss of appetite), no family history of heart disease, non-smoker, workout nearly everyday (before anxiety anyway) and drink alcohol once a week maximum. I study health science so I know the signs and symptoms of heart attacks inside out and back the front which fuels my anxiety but I'll get into that a bit more after!

My anxiety started a couple of months ago after a night out in town where I took a small amount (and I mean a small amount) of MDMA. The next morning after I hadn't slept I got really worried that my heart rate wasn't going down and I was convinced I was having a heart attack which meant a trip to the emergency room. They checked me out (ECG's etc, the usual) and put it all down to the drugs still being in my system which had caused this episode. They sent me home and told me to sleep it off which I did. Around 3 weeks later (during this time I didn't have any problems at all) I was sitting at home when I suddenly started feeling really anxious just sitting on the couch, my heart rate was up, palpitations, sweating etc and I was once again convinced I was having a heart attack. After another trip to the ER which meant more ECG's and even X-rays and blood testing this time they gave me the all clear and put it down to anxiety and sent me to a GP.