PDA

View Full Version : What in the world?!

MrsJ88
06-26-2013, 02:00 PM
I'm kinda freaking! I had a doctors appointment today because I have zero energy and have been bruising easily and a lot and the dr ordered all this blood work (like 3 tubes to be drawn) they went to draw the blood (which all during my pregnancy last year when I had blood drawn monthly it flowed out of me like a faucet) TODAY, no blood would come out! So they stuck my arm, my hand, and pricked two fingers! Then during the finger prick, they said my blood was either too thin or too thick! What the hell?! Never had this issue! So now I have to come back Friday cause they could only get half of a syringe of blood instead of 3 tubes! So scared something is wrong!

missmello
06-26-2013, 02:19 PM
If something was seriously wrong they would not have let you leave the office. Just remind yourself of that. I have never heard of such a thing, then again I am not an expert in anything lol. Did you ask your doctor if its something to be concerned about? If not, call and ask just to ease your mind, or ask them on Friday.

str8trippin
06-26-2013, 02:22 PM
I'm not a medical professional by any means, but I did work in a medical unit at my previous job and watched a LOT of blood being drawn, and I've heard that it is something that happens once in a while, and I don't think it's anything to worry about. My Dad was like this all the time...I don't think I ever witnessed a time where someone wasn't struggling to get blood out with him. Like missmello said, if it was something they were really concerned about, they wouldn't have let you leave and told you to come back. Make sure you are really well hydrated before hand, and if you can, walk around a little bit to get the blood flowing...that might help.

MrsJ88
06-26-2013, 03:20 PM