PDA

View Full Version : therapist says its not anxiety?!?!?

missmello
06-13-2013, 02:07 PM
Today's been a long-ass-day.

Had a holter monitor yesterday, returned it to doctor today. Then I had an interview which went well, drove an hour to get there though. Then I had therapy this afternoon.

This was only my 2nd visit with her, so we went through the whole timeline from when my "anxiety" first started up until now. I'll sum it up. After I graduated highschool I started getting typical panic attacks (rapid heart rate, thought I was dying, etc). 2005 I got really bad again, scared something was wrong with my heart, panic attacks everyday, heart rate through the roof, would avoid sleeping in my bed because that's where I would usually get my panic attacks. Then 2009 it was stomach issues. Now its stomach issues again, there was an entire month where I stopped eating and lost 15lbs because I had zero appetite. I can eat now, but I'm still nauseous every day. Now I'm obsessing about my heart, constantly checking my pulse. Think its either too fast or too slow.

I've had sooo many tests done, always come back fine.

My therapist tells me today "not eating for that long, and losing all that weight, doesnt sound like it could be caused by anxiety"

What!?!??! Really?!?!? She is now encouraging me to continue seeing doctors and asking for more tests. I am at a total loss! She said that I need to rule everything out before she can say its anxiety, and that there could still be something that they haven't found.

I am so confused, angry, sad, tormented!!

So I come home and tell my husband and he flips out. He does not support the decision to continue with doctors. I don't know what to do and feel like I have no support.

em1
06-13-2013, 02:24 PM
Hello I have to say that due to my bad Anxiety that I've had Zero Appetite for three weeks and have lost a stone myself so I'm