PDA

View Full Version : 26 and obsessing about death of parents (while they're alive)

chickenlimbo
06-10-2013, 03:14 PM
Hi, I usually wait to post new threads when I'm new at a forum but I really need some input asap. This is incredibly long but it all spilled out in exactly this form. If you make it through, thanks. If not, I understand and thanks anyway.

I'm going to include a
*** trigger warning***
because these are things that fill me with intense anxiety and I don't want to disturb anyone with this.

I'm not sure if this related to another disorder I've overlooked but to my limited knowledge, I can only classify it as anxiety. Every now and then, I'll go through little phases of intense obsession which last anywhere from one to three months, sometimes longer. I'm always too embarrassed to tell anyone so I suffer alone. Here are my most memorable ones to provide an example:

- When i was about 5 and had just found out about death, my mom told me we would go to heaven when we died but it was more likely that Jesus would come back (child-friendly language for Christ's second coming) before any of us died and it disturbed and scared me. I asked if there would be orange juice in heaven and she told me we wouldn't even need to drink anything in heaven and I seriously kind of freaked out. I remember watching Oprah with her and wondering if there was a way to not exist anymore so i wouldn't have to die or go to heaven or hell. Weird-looking clouds, loud noises, and even colorful sunsets filled me with terror that Jesus was going to come back. I was convinced an oscillating fan in my room had angel voices in it. I was also very conflicted because I was a Christian and felt these things should excite me, not terrify me.