PDA

View Full Version : Question - Seeing a psychologist

missmello
05-28-2013, 10:26 AM
I called a place this morning for counseling, I think I'm either going to be seeing a psychologist or licensed social worker, not sure until they call me back. I just looked in the phone book for a place so I'm not sure what services they offer. But anyway! I was seeing a social worker before about my anxiety and I feel like he was just there to listen to my problems, he didn't really offer me ways/techniques to cope or really "diagnose" me, nor did he give me reassurance that what I was dealing with was actually anxiety. It's not really what I was looking for and it was the first time i had ever gone to counseling at all so I didn't know what to expect.

I need REAL help, i need to be DIAGNOSED, and I need reassurance. What should I be looking for in an appointment with a psychologist? And what should they be doing to help? I have no experience with any of this so I'm not sure what I should be looking for.