PDA

View Full Version : Newbie!

Gatsby
05-18-2013, 04:28 PM
Hi there. :D I'm new to Anxiety Forum (and the forum "layout" (?) in general :P). I'm really excited to meet some new people who experience the same things that I do. For a little blurb about myself, my name is Kat and I'm 16 years old. I have depersonalization disorder and an anxiety disorder as well. I'm currently attending CBT and have only done 3 sessions (I'm a newbie to that too...jeez...lol!). No medications, though I was referred by my therapist for an anti-depressant for ruminating thoughts. Nothing too extreme about me, I do experience panic attacks weekly and have been battling anxiety for about 7 years. Anxiety and depression have occurred in my family tree and there is a chance that my anxiety is due to a "chemical imbalance". I have always struggled with some separation anxiety as well.
Anyways, since it has been just recently that I've become more open in discussing my anxiety with my immediate family and close friends, I've decided that it's time to break out of the "I'm so alone, woe is me" mindset and actually talk to others who can relate to me and lend constructive stories/advice...or who just wanna chat! :)

Feel free to say hi or make small talk, I'm really anxious (hardy-har) to meet some new friends. :)

NixonRulz
05-18-2013, 04:46 PM
You are wise beyond your years, Kat

It is great that you have stopped be a victim so young and ready to whip up on anxiety

Your stay here will be short I assure you.

Gatsby
05-18-2013, 04:56 PM
Thank you! Your comment made me smile :) I've heard that a lot, that I have an "old soul".