PDA

View Full Version : Flashing Lights and Anxiety

MShemel
08-14-2007, 05:01 PM
I have a family history of anxiety problems. A few years ago, when I was 24, I experienced my first onset of anxiety, with palpitations, numbness, and dizziness occuring all day long. After all other medical disorders were ruled out, I eventually accepted it and got over it. I have been unbothered by it for three years. Last month my girlfriend broke up with me and it started again. It was a bit different this time. I am a great driver, but when I was driving through the tunnel in to go from Manhattan to Long Island, the flashing lights for some reason made my body heat up and I felt all those anxiety symptoms. Now, whenever I drive at night, I can't help but notice them anywhere where there is continuous flashing of lights, highways, tunnels, bridges, etc. So I worry. I'm not sure if its epilepsy, because I can get the symptoms just knowing I am going to a tunnel, ten minutes before I get there. I have been able to somewhat avoid symptoms by reading license plates and other signs on the road just to get my mind off of it. I need to know what to do. Driving is an integral part of my life and work. Do you think this will go away as it has in the past?

Foxfire
08-14-2007, 06:59 PM