PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here. Looking for some help with Anxiety as it's took over my life.

Scots1
05-08-2013, 03:37 AM
5 years now I've went through so many cycles of anxiety. To this day i still question if it is anxiety and not something physical with my brain. Most of the time I am feeling lightheaded, almost floating out my own body and i start freaking out. This is the main problem with me. Is this really symptoms of anxiety? I took myself of citalopram and doctor told me to take 50 mg setraline but I'm not sure about taking them as I want to try and beat this on my own. I am trying so hard to feel like the person i used to be before all of this started and cant seem to get the " old " me back, feels like i am loosing my mind. Anyone with similar symptoms due to anxiety ? Thank you for taking the time to read this. Allan

raggamuffin
05-08-2013, 03:54 AM
Yes it is a symptom. With enough stress and worry the body gives out symptoms showing it needs to rest and recover. Derealization or feeling slightly off, surreal, dizzy, lightheaded is certainly an anxiety symptom. If you've been to Dr's and they found nothing physically wrong it might be prudent to ask them about Cognitive Behavioural Therapy. Possibly paired with an anxiety medication if needs be.

The key is to understanding the anxiety, the symptoms and how it's affecting you. The more udnerstanding you have the less likely you are to freak out when a symptom kicks in. Don't respond with emotions but rationalize the situation. Anxiety feeds off fear and worry, that's why it's key to try and remain as level headed as possible.

Ed

Scots1
05-08-2013, 04:00 AM