PDA

View Full Version : New Here

Robert Tressell
04-23-2013, 01:45 PM
Hi I'm new on the forum though I did post in 2008 briefly;I am a 47 year old male who has suffered alone
with anxiety since childhood;I experience many difficult symptoms and am really struggling to come to terms with this the older i get.I work in sales and cover my feelings well,even from family and friends,all of whom think i'm a great guy but inside i feel like nothing.I have resisted medication and had less than sympathetic doctor consultations,maybe i hide it from them also!!
Hope to get some advice on how others cope. Recently I've been having panics and health anxiety. Another set of blood tests results due tomorrow and I suffer from GERD which doesn't help my health anxiety as chest pain is quite frequent. Seems to be getting worse, targets up at work, moving house and two recent deaths in the family haven't helped!
I've been offered Cipralex but am reluctant to begin this, i'm interested to know of any experiences with this drug, does it help?
My mothers family suffered from "terrible nerves" as they used to say and sadly my eldest daughter has anxiety and depression and is on Prozac. There must be a strong genetic link in this illness.

George
04-23-2013, 03:29 PM
Robert I'm new here also but not new to anxiety. Your story sounds very familiar to mine. I hid my anxiety for years and also have a strong family history on my mother's side. My brother has also had anxiety problems all his life. About ten years ago I admitted my problems to my wife. Fortunately she was understanding and I began to see a psychiatrist. I began to take citalopran. Which works and generally helped a great deal with daily problems. Occasionally, things will flare out of control. For panic attacks I take zanex. This gets me through. The best way to deal with things is to talk about them not bottle them up.