PDA

View Full Version : Noob here, hello. Still anxious. Been on citalopram for a year and a half.

ranknfile
04-21-2013, 05:41 PM
Hi there,
Glad I decided to join the forum, seems like it may help. I'm a 30 y.o. male, finally decided to try citalopram a year or so ago, and it works here and there...no side effects really. Just seems it doesn't always help. I definitely would appreciate some perspectives/advice, here goes:

- I smoke pot daily (I enjoy it, self medicate with it...treat it more like a beer after work so don't think I'm fried out all day) Anyone think that may have something to do with the anxiety I still seem to have? Canceling out citalopram?
- Some of the anxiety I have is about social situations: meeting new people, feelings of self-consciousness.
- I'm an artist and musician yet I have major fears/anxiety about starting something new or just sitting down and sketching/practicing. I'll spend a whole day thinking about it doing it and watching the clock while doing so, yet it won't happen. I'd say 4 out of 7 days I feel like this. Thoughts?

Or am I lazy worthless procrastinator?

Hopefully I didn't just waste anyone's time.

Sincerely,
p

davelenn
04-21-2013, 05:55 PM
I have smoked pot several times in my life. The times I have it gave me terrible panic attacks. So it may be the pot. A pharmacist told me one time that when we take any medication that our liver builds up enzymes to start getting the medication out of our system. Therefore the medications are not as effective when we first begin them. This may be what is happening with you and the pot. You are having a panic attack due to the enzymes getting rid of the pot.
I would go ask your doc for an SSRI antidepressant. This will help with the social anxiety and procrastinating.
In addition I would also ask for a benzo. This will help with nerves.

streakybacon
04-21-2013, 06:06 PM