PDA

View Full Version : I'm afraid to excel

QuestionQuestion
03-14-2013, 01:04 AM
I've always been one to depend on my own self to do/get through things. I studied abroad in the middle east when I was 19 and lived abroad elsewhere to. My heart was broken because I had a nervous breakdown 2 years ago, 4 years after college and waiting/wanting to finally excel in my field after so much work and heartbreak. Literally, right at the point in my life when everything was coming together professionally/personally I had a nervous breakdown and am now trying to feel or believe I can excel again, but I'm scared. It was so horrible the first time I couldn't even believe what was happening to me. I don't really have anyone for support or the sister who I live with that believes in me. I'm just so scared. I'm scared of all my dreams being broken again. I think I'm ok now mentally/ that Ive recovered but still totally not 100% sure. I just want to have the faith or belief that hey my dreams can come true and won't be shattered into a million pieces again. It was so horrible I wanted to commit suicide. There's so many opportunities and I feel hey all I need is myself but because of these mental issues Ive kind of lost some trust in myself/my brain to cope with things. My mom didn't know what I went through to graduate in 4 years. Literally the last year of college I developed anxiety and depression just being fixated on graduating at the end of the year. My mom thinks that it was something easy but no one knows the pain I went through to get things done. The thing is, I'm not trying to sound pompous or something, but I'm really smart and don't want to let myself settle for crap when I know that I just shouldn't. That I have so much more to live, be, and do. It's even hard for me to admit this anonymously on a board. It's something that I don't want to admit to myself. I'd appreciate any help/info from anyone. Thankyou.

alankay
03-14-2013, 06:17 AM