PDA

View Full Version : Terrified of future but desire life back :-)

Foxglove
03-08-2013, 04:21 AM
Can anyone offer any seeds of wisdom please. I am a newbie and think this forum is incredibly helpful and insightful too.

I live with my husband who has clinical depression and is a recovering alcoholic (hasn’t drunk for many years) and his mother who has Alzheimer's.

I am her official carer and also his.

We also live with my husband’s son who is 19 and is currently unemployed. He does help but is extremely lazy! But he does come with me if I need to attend say the dentist and my husband can’t come.

I suffer from agoraphobia and anxiety and emetophobia which I have had for many years. I have a fear of loss of control and also a big fear of being alone.

I am worried about my situation because I am rather trapped and I also don’t have close friends to turn to (perhaps through the isolation of agoraphobia) and no family at all.

My husband can get very angry with the world and life can be very difficult. I am afraid of the destruction I could leave behind if I left. I don’t think he would survive.

I have been in troubled relationships before and have received help from Women’s Aid. I was once almost put into a refuge but couldn’t stand it there and had to leave, only to be put into a supported house with drug addicts. It was one of the worst times of my life, one I would hate to repeat.

I feel I am too old for that now and worthy of more.