PDA

View Full Version : Feeling so isolated!

KathleenAnne
02-07-2013, 08:07 PM
This is what I hate about anxiety. That feeling of complete and utter isolation. Regardless of how many times I hear "I'm here for you mate if you wanna talk" or "Aw try not to worry", it just reinforces how far away people are from understanding what anxiety does to a person. First panic attack ever, that flustered feeling, looking around me on a busy train, my heart pounding, feeling as though I was losing control, I had to escape, I had to run away, I'm losing my mind. Ever since that day anxiety has been a close, although evil presence in my life. Where I go and what I do is determined by it. Still to build up the courage of getting on trains and most public transport without a vodka down my neck (don't worry, I'm a student nurse fully aware of how using alcohol to help your problems is not a solution). I just hate the feeling of having no control. Feeling as though I'm actually losing my mind and having my irrational brain overtake my rational side. Suppose it's just difficult embracing support from people who don't understand the disorder... how can I believe there's hope when I haven't SEEN anyone who has it, beating it? I've signed up to this to hopefully meet friendly people with problems similar to mine who can offer support, some light in the darkness.

Ivers
02-07-2013, 08:15 PM
You are NOT alone, darlin'. I'm only now just realizing how common the experiences of people with anxiety/panic/depression really are. Sure, we each have a unique pathology. But the things I read on this forum tell me that there are lots of people who have had/are having strikingly similar experiences as me. I'm really comforted by that discovery. I hope you can take some comfort in it too :)

Just hang on. Just hang on. Just hang on.

KathleenAnne
02-07-2013, 08:19 PM