PDA

View Full Version : first counseling appt

captainkitty
02-02-2013, 07:26 AM
Has anyone had counseling for anxiety?
This is my first time so i'm sure I won't expect much for the first visit, probably just paper work and questions.
I'm just curious to those who have taken it, did it help any? Any improvement?

helplessinseattle
02-02-2013, 12:52 PM
Yay for you! When I started counselling it wasn't an immediate cure, of course, but the biggest best part was just having someone believe me and be willing to work with me. It changes how you fell, in a good way. Like not so alone with this diabling but invisible condition.

helplessinseattle
02-02-2013, 12:55 PM
Try to be very truthful about your symptoms and don't downplay them or minmize the effect anxiety has on your life. The counselling office is a place where yu don't have to be all strong and brave or blame yourself for anything. Let it flow. And they ALWAYS have plenty of Kleenex.

Ahlstrom
02-02-2013, 02:18 PM
Yes, I have been to quite a few counseling appts.

Me and my counselor have not talked about ways of coping, but I have started desensitizing myself from things that trigger my panic attacks.

For example, I always had to leave the room when my friends smoked weed. If I smelled even a little bit of it I would flip complete shit and my heart rate would spike quick. Eventually through my doctors directions on how to desensitize myself I'm now able to sit around my friends when they smoke, which is a great relief to me, because I hated when everyone would be having fun but I was the one who had to sit all alone in another room waiting for them to finish.

helplessinseattle
02-02-2013, 05:49 PM
Ahlstrom, if you would like to, would you tell us a bit about how the desitization works? What do you do to desensitize that helps?

PhoenixStorm
02-03-2013, 11:13 AM
How was your appointment? How did you find a counselor?