PDA

View Full Version : Anxiety? Confused Soldier Needs His Own Heroes

urbanmaguy
01-22-2013, 04:39 PM
Hi Everyone:

I am a 30-year-old soldier with no medical issues (mental or otherwise) other than the story I am about to reveal. For nearly a year, I have been suffering with what I believe is anxiety and would sincerely appreciate any advice anyone might have to offer. Last March, while sitting in one of my graduate classes, I experienced a sudden onset of intense dizziness and nausea. The feeling came out of nowhere with the room feeling as though it were spinning. After sitting for a few moments, I excused myself and managed to make it to the restroom, but the spinning did not let up. I thought relieving myself would help; however it did not. At this point my heart did begin to beat very fast. I actually remember my heart starting to pound because I was very worried about why I was spinning. I remember thinking to myself, “what’s going on?” and “why am I so dizzy?” Looking at myself in the mirror my skin was noticeably flush. I left the restroom and called my mom (who’s a nurse) and sought advice. Throughout the entire ordeal I was calm, never felt panicked, or overtly fearful.

My mom advised me to go to the ER, so I walked back into the classroom where the session had just concluded. I spoke with my professor and told him I felt very dizzy and asked if he’d walk with me to the security booth. He agreed and I called EMS while walking. I remember the heart palpitations subsiding, but the dizziness was coming in waves for about an hour or so. Even while in the ambulance I had a wave of dizziness. Once in the ER, the attending told me I was dehydrated and/or possibly coming down with an infection. I was released after a few hours.