PDA

View Full Version : paranoia/anxiety

Grace
05-22-2007, 07:26 AM
For as long as I can remember, I have always had this fear of being judged and have always felt judged. If anyone, even those closest to me, appear distant, sad, rude, or are less friendly with me than usual, I automatically assume they are angry at me, that I have done something wrong, or that they do not like me. I used to put this down to 'paranoia' as that is what people would tell me I am. That is 'don't be silly, Grace, you're just being paranoid.' As i have gotten older and better educated re mental health issues (i work in the field) I have come to realise it is anxiety.

I have other symptoms that indicate an anxiety disorder, (but have never been diagnosed) including a obsessive compulsive tendencies, like checking.
However, the issue/fear that pervades most of my life is my "paranoia" that people do not like me. And no matter what anyone tells me, I cannot stop thinking this way. It may seem silly, but it affects me greatly and works in a terrible cycle.

Does anyone else out there experience this? I feel like the only one. I don't feel like I even fit into any of the anxiety disorders out there.

Any opinions are welcome. Thanks.

fcDrifter127
05-25-2007, 08:49 PM