PDA

View Full Version : Zoloft Withdrawl sucks, anyone else have these problems?

Rob84
01-11-2013, 02:05 AM
I'm new to this thread, and just looking for a little support through this tough time.
About 2months ago out of nowhere, and with never having a history of anxiety or panic attacks, I suddenly got them. Now I was working 70hrs a week for almost 2yrs straight and I think this is why it happened, especially when one of my jobs I hated with a passion and it caused the brunt of my stress.
After about 2 weeks of dealing with it I finally went to a doctor (I went to urgent care the day it happened thinking I was having a heart attack but came out clean there) and the Dr prescribed me 50mg zoloft.
Now i'm not saying it didn't work for abating the anxiety and panic attacks, but the side effects from it were worse than anything I've ever possibly experienced in my life. I tried making my way through the 50mg for a month but couldn't take it anymore and then around Christmas I cut my dose in half. 25mg never felt so good is one way I could describe the feeling after dropping for about a week. I initially had dizziness and lightheadedness for about a week after dropping but those faded just after the start of the yr. Then the really fun withdrawal symptoms kicked in. My body constantly feels like its tingling and I can't sleep but once every third night (like the tiredness catches up to me and i can finally sleep one night) But this insomnia is kicking my ass. I'm also dealing with body tremors and my extremities in my hands and feet tingle/buzz.
Now I figured since I was only on the 50mg for a month my withdrawal side effects would be short lived, but I was wrong. This is really starting to suck not being able to sleep at night, and i've read it can sometimes take up to a month :( During the day I almost feel fine though, like there's no anxiety, its just at night that I have problems.