PDA

View Full Version : Amxiety ruining college

moonchild1986
01-09-2013, 04:13 PM
Long story short ive had anxiety/ panic attacks since I was 12. I'm now 26. I had to quit school because of severe panic attacks. Few years down the line I got better. Well I managed them. I decided to go college. I'm in my final year and guess what. They're back !!!!

I really don't want to quit. I don't know what to do. I've worked so hard. :(

SunnieDebris
01-09-2013, 04:26 PM
Hey, moonchild, and welcome! I'm sorry that you are having such a tough time right now. What have you done in the past to manage them?

phoenix1
01-09-2013, 04:35 PM
Really sorry to hear that you are feeling so bad at the moment. I think one of the things with anxiety is that it is not always consistent and its when we step out, that it seems to come and bite us. May I be so bold as to suggest seeing the college counsellor, or perhaps going back to your gp. You may find that the college can give you consessions towards your grade as you are carrying a mental health issue. Finally, if it gets that bad, you may be able to suspend your time on the course and come back to it when you are feeling better.

I have found it useful to get into the habit of examining alternatives, and am now waiting for my crb form to start volunteering at my local Mind organisation.
You may find that jotting down any positive thoughts or ideas could prove useful.

Please keep your chin up and I hope that something of what I have suggested could prove useful.

All the best for the future. Joe

moonchild1986
01-09-2013, 04:48 PM
Hey thanks for replying. In the past I guess I forgot about it. Seems impossible now though. I'm guessing its stress as I'm applying for uni.
I'm currently waiting to start CBT.
I try talking to my tutors but they just don't understand. They tend to shrug the problem of (if that makes sense)