PDA

View Full Version : Conquered a fear today!

laurandisorder
01-08-2013, 01:45 AM
Well. For the first time in almost 2 years, I made it through a movie with no anxiety!!!

I went to see The Life of Pi with my partner and I was soooo on edge and nervous before hand. I had about 3 hours of sleep last night worrying about it and what would happen if I had an attack in the theatre. I booked seats so we were on an aisle and it was just an amazing experience.

Theatre settings create situational anxiety for me, the darkness, the surround sound, even the 3D all set me off because I am so hypersensitive. We made an exit strategy and well, not only did I survive, I loved the film too.

I majored in screen at Uni and love movies so this is really major for me. I just got a little bit of my life back.

PanicCured
01-08-2013, 03:13 AM
Great! Now do this kind of facing fears stuff more and more. Keep doing it until you see nothing can happen. Just deal with it and you will feel so good after! Great to hear you were strong!

dazza
01-08-2013, 03:44 AM
LOL... one of my worst panic attacks was in a cinema. I completely concur with the "situational anxiety".

My all time worst panic attack of all time was in a space-ship simulator at Disney world.
There's all the kids loving it and there's me... absolutely shitting myself with anxious fear. Pale of face, wide of eye, fast of heart rate...

Couldn't feckin' breath by the time I'd got out, and worst still... I got out into the blazing heat, right in the middle of a parade.

Genuinely thought I had minutes to live.

God, you gotta laugh pmsl

Tomn
01-08-2013, 04:44 AM
Congrats on the victory! Avoiding anxiety-causing situations accomplishes nothing, sometimes you gotta just go for it.

laurandisorder
01-08-2013, 04:50 AM