PDA

View Full Version : How do I even start?

dazedandconfused
05-12-2007, 07:55 PM
I was diagnosed with GAD a little over 2 years ago; and have realistically been battling it since about 10 years old.

For a while, I thought my anxiety was normal and simply saw myself as an excessive worrier. However, I graduated high school in 2002; went on to a 4 year university and excelled my freshman year. My anxiety issues, while still present, I seemed to have under control.

Fast forward to my sophomore year. I got into drinking pretty heavily and found myself wasted at least 3-4 days a week. I stopped going to classes with any regularity by 2nd semester. My anxiety dramatically worsened; probably induced by my binge drinking cycle. Somehow I made it through my sophomore year and lined up an apartment directly below my best friend's place.

Junior year, things really got out of control. In addition to binge drinking I started smoking weed on a regular basis. By the end of the 1st semester junior year I was smoking weed almost every night. At the time I was content despite realizing I was on the verge of failing out of school. My anxiety became overwhelming and I'd go days without so much as leaving my mess of an apartment. After failing 3 of my 5 classes this semester I made the decision to leave school.

I came home and sought help for my anxiety. My doctor prescribed me Zoloft; which along with my increasing marijuana usage seemed to erase my anxiety. I was happier than ever; able to hold down steady employment; and my mind no longer seemed to race around at light speed (the main manifestation of my anxiety issues).

After time; my happiness was replaced with lethargy and a renewed lack of motivation. I lost touch with several non-stoner friends and I pretty much withdrew socially; preferring to sit in my car and smoke alone.