PDA

View Full Version : A little scared- need advice and someone to talk to

Halfmiler
12-23-2012, 08:07 PM
Hi everyone,

So I'm a 20 year old woman who has always had a nervous personality. I find myself worrying about things like my parents spending money on me for school and more recently for Christmas. I feel so guilty about all of the money they spend buying me "things" . I'm a straight A student who also runs track at a D1 school so by no means am I ungrateful or take advantage of the opportunities they give me. I just feel guilty and anxious every time I hear how much they spend on me. Recently my worries have taken a real turn for the worst. For about nine days I've been having heart palpitations all day and racing/intrusive thoughts that really scare me about mortality and death. It's worst around 6 or 7 at night and lasts about 2 or 3 hours. I had episodes like this when I was around 11 but I got over it and stayed panic free for almost 10 years. I'm scared this is going to last my whole life. Will I need medicated? I feel a little better writing it down so thanks for listening.

mw0929
12-23-2012, 08:14 PM
I know sometimes it's hard to accept help without feeling guilty but I'm sure your parents just want to help you be successful. I'm 29 and my mom still tries to buy me stuff. It's a parental instinct to take care of their kids regardless of age. Honey, have you talked to anyone about your anxiety?

SunnieDebris
12-23-2012, 08:20 PM
Halfmiler,

Welcome! I'm glad you found us. I'm 37 and my parents still insist on paying whenever we get together. My dad and I actually got into a little fight about it, so I just say "thank you" now, and let him pay. Parents are funny that way. Night time is when a lot of us who suffer with anxiety suffer the most. As far as medication goes, I'd say just to have an open mind about it. Since you felt better writing out your fears, perhaps journaling your thoughts and feelings may help. I wish you nothing but the best!