PDA

View Full Version : Frustrated!

sesler
12-16-2012, 09:48 PM
I thought after getting good news from the cardiologist a couple weeks ago I would be feeling better. Last night I woke up in a panic, feeling like I was suffocating. Today my chest, shoulders and back hurt. I'm wondering if this has anything to do with the elementary shooting? I just can't stop thinking about those innocent lives taken at such a young age. As a teacher I'm finding it very hard to go to work tomorrow. My son also attends the same school and all theses scenarios are being played out in my head. I know there is a very, very slim chance that would happen to us, but as a person who suffers from anxiety, would I be able to follow our safety plan? Would I remember what to do? Would I be focused on the well being of my son? I just really need to get through this week, knowing we will be starting our Christmas break soon.

mindblock24
12-16-2012, 09:56 PM
I feel the same, I had to turn off the news at one point I couldn't stop crying and felt so anxious. I have a six year old who I wish I could keep home
and close to me all week.

sesler
12-16-2012, 10:00 PM
I wish I could turn off the news. I just keep waiting to hear information on why someone would commit such a heinous crime.

laurandisorder
12-16-2012, 10:36 PM
I feel the same. I can't escape this horrible event... It's clogging the news, my Facebook newsfeed - all I can see are the adorable faces of those precious children. I also feel horrendously guilty because what right do I have to feel this way when this was not my school, my community, my family, my students? But it would be inhuman not to feel anything. Not to grieve for little faces you would have never have known otherwise.