PDA

View Full Version : What is hyperventilation ?

nicole123x
12-06-2012, 07:09 AM
When somebody hyperventiliates can the CO2 level go higher than the O2 level ?

SunnieDebris
12-06-2012, 07:39 AM
I'm not a doctor, but my understanding of hyperventilating is that you stuff your lungs full of air, and then don't exhale it all, so you feel like you can't breathe, but in truth, you just need to exhale. I don't know about CO2 levels vs O2 levels, but if I understand you, you're asking if it can do damage. I don't think so. You can avoid passing out if you just exhale. Hope this helps.

nicole123x
12-06-2012, 07:47 AM
I'm not a doctor, but my understanding of hyperventilating is that you stuff your lungs full of air, and then don't exhale it all, so you feel like you can't breathe, but in truth, you just need to exhale. I don't know about CO2 levels vs O2 levels, but if I understand you, you're asking if it can do damage. I don't think so. You can avoid passing out if you just exhale. Hope this helps.

Hi thanks for you reply
I was just wondering, during a anxiety attack my oxygen level seems to down quite a lot then straight back up! I didn't know you could lose oxygen during hyperventilation.. are oxygen levels and carbon dioxide levels balanced?

On my oximeter it shows my oxygen dropping during an attack, but it could just be carbon dioxide (as that's what is supposed to happen during hyperventilation, you apparently lose carbon dioxide not oxygen i'm just a bit worried this has happened on every attack!

I even considered that it could be a asthma attack and not an anxiety attack, but I have recently had asthma and everything cam back normal. I'm just getting a bit scared as to why I am losing oxygen during an attack....
Just being anxious again lol

SunnieDebris
12-06-2012, 08:00 AM
Hi thanks for you reply