PDA

View Full Version : Anxiety coupled with something physical?

jlong007
11-28-2012, 08:48 PM
Quick questions,

Do you guys think that you can have just anxiety and panic disorder by itself or do you think that there might be some underlying medical condition that causes panic
And anxiety disorder?

natuhhleee
11-29-2012, 02:47 AM
I'm no doctor, but neither is google! Don't scare yourself!

See, if when your busy and not focused on your anxiety, do the physical symptoms still bother you? Or does pain arrive only when you feel anxious? That's somewhat of a difference to know if its medical or not. But to be safe, have a physical. Bug your doctors, that's what they are there for, to make sure you are healthy.

dazza
11-29-2012, 03:02 AM
Not so black and white i'm affraid.

An initial symptom MAY be anxiety but also maybe something physical... not necessarily serious, but physical none-the-less.

The person panics. They panic so bad that they develop anxiety disorder.

Now what happens? well, anxiety pains and symptoms ensue. The person becomes so occupied with their panic / fear / anxiety that the original physical issue is forgotten or blamed on anxiety... and so the underlying physical issue may be there for months or even years.

It is vital that we treat our anxiety, but also keep an eye on what also could be a real physical issue. Both can easily be mistaken for or blamed on one-another.

jlong007
11-29-2012, 06:38 AM
So in a situation like mine where they have done every test under the sun, multiple times, and nothing ever comes up; is it safe to assume its strictly an anxiety disorder?

In the last year I have been to the ER at least 10 times, been to 2 cardiologists, endocrinologist, neurologist, pulmonologist, my primary, ENT, Dentist. And I have had every test including a cardiac cath. And the doctors can not find anything.

Do you think it's safe to say that I have an anxiety disorder?

somedude
11-29-2012, 08:34 AM