PDA

View Full Version : I need your thoughts..

Aciid
04-19-2007, 06:06 PM
Hi, I'm a new poster and until today I never really thought about having anxiety. I've always been pretty shy growing up, ever since I was a baby, so it just seemed normal and I just kept being shy and what not. Growing up in my teens I always had an on and off depression and just thought it would pass, but now I'm 18 and I haven't really changed much from that. I just thought it would pass and it was because of all the hormones. I found this forum through google and I read that thread about the common symptoms of anxiety, there were 122 (some were repeated) symptoms and I put an "X" next to everyone I felt, it ended up being 68, more then half.

I don't know how I should seek help, I know I should go see a doctor but I just barely turned 18 on the 3rd of april and so I'm still new to being an adult and doing things for myself. My mom never doesn't think I have anxiety, she thinks that I should start exercising more and socializing with my family more, but whenever I talk to them I don't know what to say and to carry out a conversation, I can and have before easily. If I'm in the mood I can easily talk but not about myself. I feel alone in the world like no one is like me, that I'm smarter then the average person. I see and think things that the average person my age wouldn't even know about. I hear from my friends and family about how smart I am, but I dont see it. I think of it as being weird because I don't have any friends like me.