PDA

View Full Version : Fear of developing schizophrenia, please help

acegoodie
10-22-2012, 07:10 PM
Hi I’m new at talking about my anxiety so please bear with me. I have a fear of developing schizophrenia ever since seeing the reports of the Colorado movie theatre shooter. It scared me into thinking about what could possibly have caused someone to do that to innocent people. This prompted me to read up on schizophrenia as they mentioned it in the news reports. I soon realized how many symptoms I have in common. I cannot relate to anything of hearing voices or having hallucinations at all, but I worry about the other symptoms. I am not delusional and I can identify with reality and perceptions.

However, recently I am struggling with more difficulty speaking fluently in an organized manner and getting all my thoughts out. Even writing this I am trying my best not to be “scattered brain” and jump around from thought to thought. I have always been a little socially awkward and experience difficulty holding a conversation. When I’m talking it can be difficult for me to think of an appropriate response quickly. I might also struggle for the right word mid-sentence. It has always been a minor inconvenience, but seems to be getting worse the more I panic about it. I can think logically and am usually level headed unless I start worrying.

Lately it seems I am having trouble remembering and concentrating. There are times I can be in the shower thinking about something and actually forget whether or not I just washed my hair! I am under stress from situations in life and the concern of this is adding more to it. I’m not familiar with much anxiety(or severely fearing a condition at least) as this is new to me. I recognize my speech sounds monotone and not as chipper as I use to be. I’m very concerned. Recently I have been having unwanted and racing thoughts which I cannot control. I have never had this before and it scared me badly when it first happened.