PDA

View Full Version : My anxiety - suffered for 4 years. Getting very fed up.

stokescj
10-16-2012, 03:27 AM
Hello all,

This is my first time I have visited this forum. I have been suffering from anxiety for around 4 years now (I am aged 24).

I am not sure what I plan on achieving from this post, but I hope in some way it will result in a relief for my symptoms. Either way, I have told very few people about my symptoms so I hope it will feel good to talk about it a bit.

It all started during a week period when I was under copious amounts of stress, I was sleeping badly and I was keeping a vigorous fitness training programme. Before this time, I have always been someone who was slightly panicky, but in no way did I have what I consider "anxiety".

It was also the same time I started dating my wife, adding to the busy schedule. One night, we we just laid on my bed for around 3 hours talking and she just so happened to sit on top of me (and I don't mean having sex), I mean actually sitting on my tummy while I lay down on the bed

When we finally decided to sleep, i started feeling really unwell. What I thought at the time was flu coming on, was actually the first day of my anxiety. My first symptom, which I have felt 24/7 since this time, was this servire tightness of the throat and general diaphragm area. It results in me permanently not be able to sit down and feel comfortable and relax. I feel like if I just turned back the clock, I would not let her sit on my stomach, and reduced my busy schedule so I was not so stressed and I would not be in the position I am today.

Since then, I have been working on and off the for last 4 years. I am so lucky that this wonderful girl that I was dating has now become my wife. For only around 2 weeks were we together while I was actually well, yet she still decided to stick with me, help me try to get better and such. For that, even though I suffer from this foul infliction, I still feel very lucky.