PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here: How long do the physical symptoms last continuously?

mdbyrne
10-10-2012, 05:23 PM
The extreme irony of my situation is my first isolated panic attack was on an airplane to San Francisco a few years ago...I'm a paratrooper. No other signs or symptoms until the past month.

From the experienced ones here: what's the longest period you have had continuous symptoms?

I'm going on over a month with either constant muscular pain, weakness, stiffness, throat tightness, jaw tightness, trouble swallowing, numbness, tingling, pins and needles which has put me in a loop of hypochondria and anxiety due to thinking I have something more serious. I have not been diagnosed with anything yet, including anxiety disorder. Even when I feel relaxed these symptoms persist, and they will subside for a night or a few hours then come back.

Any thoughts or advice...

raggamuffin
10-10-2012, 05:30 PM
First you need to accept the pains are stemming from anxiety. The next step would be to undertake CBT to help change the way you think and stop worry from feeding your anxiety which keeps you on edge and then in turn creates more symptoms due to your brain constantly believing itself to be in a state of danger.

I've been experiencing daily symptoms and pains every hour of every day for 18 months. Distraction is a big help, but until you realize it's caused by anxiety then it's hard to accept it and then progress. Recovery will take quite a while to do. your brain has been wired to think in this irrational and paranoid state and CBT will help you to steer away from the anxious mindset and back to thinking in a calmer and collected state.

Ed

dazza
10-10-2012, 05:31 PM
Hey

Firstly - go see a doctor and get checked out... just in case.

Assuming it is 100% anxiety disorder then physical symptom longevity varies greatly amongst us anxious folk, as do the symptoms themselves.