PDA

View Full Version : Chest pain

LilStephiee
10-10-2012, 03:02 PM
I've been having chest pain for the past 2 weeks on and off I'm only 18 and I keep thinking I'm going to have a heart attack :( I'm only new to aniexty I went to the doctor 2 weeks ago with the chest pain and he said its aniexty but I'm still scared because since then I've being getting pains in my left arm

LilStephiee
10-10-2012, 03:03 PM
It's more of a sore muscle pain and sometimes it clicks when I move it :( I'm always checking my heart beat aswell :(

dazza
10-10-2012, 05:05 PM
Chest pain and left arm / shoulder pain are one of most common symptoms of anxiety, stress & panic attacks.
(Why the left & not the right arm suffers most - god only knows, but it does)

The pain(s) can be caused by a number of things...

a) adrenalin tightening the muscles
b) acid reflux (get checked for GERD / acid)
c) muscle tension directly linked to anxious brain signals

or a combination of the above

During my early days of developing anxiety disorder, my entire chest would absolutely kill during a panic attack. Together with a POUNDING heart rate and unimaginable fear.
Having no idea of what was happening and assuming the worst... I actually held my arms out straight (making a human cross) one night as if to say... "OK... take me"

That was near 11 months ago and I'm still here :-)
I still get tension pains during anxious episodes but NOTHING like they used to be.
I also sometimes get pain after eating spicy food or simply over eating. (Use Gaviscon or Rennie to ease the indegestion)

Fear not me old bean... it's a response to stress, either conscious or subconscious.

lsapphirel
10-11-2012, 02:32 AM