PDA

View Full Version : Anxiety and paralysis by analysis (philosophical discussion inside)

dice3510
09-26-2012, 07:52 AM
Hello,

For months, I've been almost completely paralyzed by a vicious cycle of obsessive thinking I have been unable to escape. I will describe my thought processes below; and I am especially interested in hearing people's opinion on the rationality, or lack thereof, of my worries, and how I am to go on about addressing/alleviating my intrusive thoughts. Unlike what I presume is the case in most anxious persons' cases, in mine, it is not so readily apparent or easy to establish the irrationality of the thoughts. I think it really requires one to sit down and think about it.

Copied from a Yahoo answers page.

In summer 2011, a brief study on morality I did led me to believe moral nihilism was true. In February 2012 I started studying the matter again and concluded morality relativism made more sense than I initially thought and even objective morality might exist.

I've been driving myself crazy with questions such as the following. Why did I initially not do a more thorough study on morality? Was it a belief that further study would not have changed my mind, or was it influenced by a desire to engage in certain 'immoral' behaviors (there is basis to think this; I did desire to engage in some immoral behaviors, although I never did). Why did I start studying the matter again in February? Did I start thinking morality might exist, or was it a desire for it to exist? Or maybe I always thought morality might exist, I just chose not to study the matter because 1) it would take too long 2) I desire to engage in certain immoral behaviors now.

There are the following possibilities with regards to what I thought would have happened if I'd studied morality more thoroughly last summer:
- it definitely would not have changed my mind
- it definitely would have changed my mind
- it probably would not have changed my mind