PDA

View Full Version : Feel like I'm insane..

MrPhilip92
09-10-2012, 03:22 PM
Hey everyone, I decided to sign up to this forum as reading about other peoples anxiety is a great help to me. I'm a 20 year old student who in the past 2/3 months (fairly new) has been suffering with what I believe is anxiety. My symptoms are I guess the usual anxiety symptoms such as Weak legs, arms, feeling like I'm going to pass out, numbness, fear of dying prematurely, weight loss.. along with a whole heap of other symptoms which include stomach problems (recently been diagnosed with IBS) which I think is due to my anxiety. My fear of dying prematurely may come from the fact that my mother passed away when I was 14 with cancer and she was only 43, since then I've become some what of a hypercondriac.

I haven't officially been diagnosed with anxiety as I haven't seen the doctor about it ( going to on Wednesday) but I'm pretty sure I have it. :(

I have been on google continuously for the last 2 weeks self-diagnosing and freaking myself out even more.. I just want to feel normal again!

Also.. I have a fear of taking medication & side effects so what I actually want to know is.. does therapy really work?????

leeann76
09-10-2012, 03:34 PM
Hello :). Yes therapy will work. You need to be comfortable with the therapist and be able to be open and honest with them. Going to the doctor is a good place to start. I completely understand your fear of taking meds because I have the same.

Googling symptoms makes everything worse!

MrPhilip92
09-10-2012, 03:38 PM
Another thing i forgot to add is, when i wake up I don't usually feel anxious but around 3-6PM i start getting anxious about time going too slow and wanting to be back in bed, does this happen to anyone else?

dazza
09-10-2012, 03:50 PM
Hey fella

Cognetive Therapy is one if not THE best methods of treating anxiety. You MUST ABSOLUTELY do it, without question.
The sooner the better.

Anxiety comprises of 2 parts: