PDA

View Full Version : Do you fear for your health ?

Sassy Girl
09-03-2012, 03:26 PM
I've had anxiety and depression for nearly 20 years. I thought they had gone.

Just over a month ago I developed high blood pressure. I am taking Minax for it but it's not yet perfect. I have a terror (I call it that as it's worse than a phobia) of taking medication that I've never tried before (my sister died 20 years ago from medical negligence so that is where my fear stems from). My GP wants me to go onto a different medication even though I am only on 25 mg x 2 a day of Minax. Last night (actually about 1.30 am this morning) the diastolic figure from my blood pressure was 134. I've been told by a nurse that if it goes over 120 to call an ambulance. I didn't call one as I didn't want to look like an idiot and waste their time.

Does anyone else have a fear for their health ?

Does anyone have high blood pressure caused by constantly worrying about their health ?

How do you get your blood pressure under control via relaxation ? Not only do I have a terror of medication I also have a terror of supplements unless I have tried them before.

I have many other questions but can't remember them at the moment

j2005
09-03-2012, 03:41 PM
What was your systolic? Have you taken in lately? I have a few exercises that will lower your BP naturally. I'll message you.

James

Sassy Girl
09-03-2012, 04:14 PM
Thanks James, Blood Pressure was 160 over 134 pulse 108.

trinidiva
09-03-2012, 06:19 PM
I'm not trying to make you nervous, but honestly, that BP reading is rather high.....I take meds for BP as well, my BP was around 180/120 after I had a csection and they would not discharge me from the hospital until it dropped to a reasonable level. Now, most 4 yrs later, I am still taking a small amt of BP meds.....a diuretic called Hydroclorothiazide. It's helped to keep my bp at a normal level.

lisadu
09-03-2012, 07:42 PM