PDA

View Full Version : Heart Attack Fear - Ruining My Life

pitchblackheart
09-03-2012, 05:55 AM
Hi Everyone.

I hope everyone is feeling okay. I'm new to this, and indeed any kind of forum.

I'm not looking for answers, as I know we are all different, but having someone or something to relate to might help.

I will tell my story (it may be a bit of a long way so I do apologise!)

I am a 25 year old female. Fairly healthy, a little over weight, don't smoke or drink and don't, or have ever had any health issues.

It all started on Christmas Eve 2011. I was watching TV and suddenly got a stabbing pain in the left side of my ribs. I started to feel really hot and weak and paniced and almost collapsed. For a whole week after I felt completely drained, could move, work or anything.

In a matter of weeks I didn't want to leave the house, I was scared to be alone, hated shops and restaurants and basically felt like I was living on edge.

Straight after this I had a massive panic attack. My partner called an ambulance as he was really worried about me. They did all the tests you'd expect, ECG, blood etc and said everything was fine I had had a panic attack.

From that day on I have felt awful. My symptoms kicked in straight after. Mainly chest pain to start. A constant tight chest, short sharp stabbing pains in my neck and shoulder blades. Constantly feeling sick and extremely dizzy.

I spoke to my Dr and he said the chest pains were a result of costocondrontis and as a result of this it was causing anxiety. I obviously didn't want to accept this. I have been to the doctors so many times, blood test after blood test and still nothing. I was prescribed acid reflux tablets (which I still take as they thought this was the cause).

In March I had a few weeks of feeling okay and finally thought I was rid of it. Then all of a sudden it came back with vengeance, this time even worse and it's never gone away.