PDA

View Full Version : Alcohol and anxiety

orangeribbons
09-01-2012, 09:59 AM
Hi everyone. I normally drink alcohol without issues (if anything it usually HELPS my anxiety temporarily, at least socially) but last night when I got home, I was still pretty intoxicated and I started feeling a weird surge of adrenaline mixed with nausea and these horrible feelings of depression. A really strange thing to be feeling while drunk. So I just got in bed, turned off the lights and started texting my friend about it and he made me feel better and then I finally just dozed off. Does anyone else ever have a response like this to alcohol? I've been drinking socially for 10 years and have NEVER felt this. I'm thinking it might be time to stop. :(

blondie33
09-01-2012, 11:41 AM
Yep. Drinking makes my anxiety worse. There have been a few times where I had an anxiety attack while drunk & it was the worst.

jhunter89
09-01-2012, 02:53 PM
Hi everyone. I normally drink alcohol without issues (if anything it usually HELPS my anxiety temporarily, at least socially) but last night when I got home, I was still pretty intoxicated and I started feeling a weird surge of adrenaline mixed with nausea and these horrible feelings of depression. A really strange thing to be feeling while drunk. So I just got in bed, turned off the lights and started texting my friend about it and he made me feel better and then I finally just dozed off. Does anyone else ever have a response like this to alcohol? I've been drinking socially for 10 years and have NEVER felt this. I'm thinking it might be time to stop. :(

Read the thread titled "help! please read!" might be helpful to you.

Enduronman
09-01-2012, 04:18 PM