PDA

View Full Version : med switching

jtaiclet30
08-31-2012, 05:06 PM
My pdoc abruptly stopped my zoloft/pristiq combo 3 days ago and started me on Wellbutrin. I am having these weird brain zaps, dizziness, feeling down, sweating etc.. im curious has this happened to anyone else? Is it normal withdrawal/side effects? I appreciate any advice

Enduronman
08-31-2012, 05:17 PM
1. What was the purpose is stopping the other (2)?
2. How long were you taking them?
3. Why the switch to wellbutrin? It is in a different class all its own I believe..

E-Man.

Enduronman
08-31-2012, 05:53 PM
Ok,..sounds great!

jtaiclet30
08-31-2012, 06:11 PM
Sorry I'm new to all this. But I was taking the pristiq for bout a year and the zoloft for bout four months, and they just weren't doing the trick anymore. I'm the type that has to switch after so long cause they stop working. That might be the reason for a different class I don't know for sure. Its just freaking me out. Again sorry it took me so long to reply. Thank you for responding to my question though.

Enduronman
08-31-2012, 06:49 PM
Sorry, I was on the phone with a client. Yes, wellbutrin is a different class although I havent cross referenced the thought but I believe it to be an SSNRI..whereas the other 2 are SSRI's.. Yes, I can understand the brain zap, dizzy, fog,..kinda surprised you didnt mention headache here too?.. I do not believe that switching classes of drugs would leave you with these other side effects this quickly though unless you were also feeling these same things with the other 2 meds together?.. The wellbutrin is going to work on another brain chemical and it in itself is kinda notorious for causing (headache, feeling like yer wearin a football helmet).. hmm.. What did the 3 days with 0 meds feel like?...Tryin to help but gotta have answers first..yay!

jtaiclet30
08-31-2012, 07:14 PM