PDA

View Full Version : New to this.. seeking some advice

Daniel1990
08-14-2012, 04:37 PM
Hello all, I'm new to this. I'm at my wits end with my anxiety at the minute so thought I'd join here as I've read really good advice. When I was about 15, I had a panic attack after smoking weed and freaked out over it, causing anxiety all the way up to I was 17. I rode the storm basically and aside from the odd tension headache, my life was anxiety free and since then I had been the confident friendly funny person I was always was, all up too march of this year. The months leading to this included moving from home to my aunties after a family argument with my dad, on top of splitting with my girlfriend and real stress at work. I was getting my haircut after a weekend of stress at work when I felt uncomfortable and the panic attack feelings came back, I freaked out completely and ran out panicking. For the next two-three weeks, I avoided everything socially aside from work and began suffering from them there and even at home. I gave in and spent two months off, mostly sat at home stuck with depressing thoughts and panicking when I left the house. I finally plucked up the courage to get back in work and for the first couple of weeks I began feeling better until the panicking over my anxious thoughts returned. Its got to the stage where I avoid places, hate the bus into work, panic walking from the stop to work then panic when I'm in work over my thoughts! Its got so bad I'm panicking about things like looking at myself in the mirror, that my heads not able to handle my feelings and that I'm scared of what I've become.. Can anyone relate to this? Even half an hour classes with a councillor going over cognitive behaviour isn't working!

Enduronman
08-14-2012, 06:14 PM
Dan,

Welcome.