PDA

View Full Version : New member looking for people like me

grubbii
07-13-2012, 01:12 PM
All-
First post...
A little about myself. I am a male, nearly 40. I currently have a high-level, 6-figure job at a fortune 5 business. I have a Master's Degree and consider myself very intellectual. I recently bought a new home...am VERY happily married and have 2 beautiful children (son, 21 months; daughter, 4 months). In fact, this is the happiest I've ever been. So, why, pray tell is my anxiety worse than its ever been?

I am on 10mg Lexapro and see a Psychotherapist twice a week.

Some days I never feel a thing, and others (like today) I felt so anxious at the office I just felt like "I have to get out of here." and came home. As an intellectual, I feel that I am "better" than this and should be able to overcome this. Some days I think "I've overcome every obstacle in my life" and other days, I feel like "I'll never get past this."

I try all sorts of things...I just did meditation for the first time...I am going to try and incorporate it into my day. I am trying to reach out, so I don't feel so isolated. I just want to know that I am not the only "professional" and ADULT that deals with this...and I want to know that it CAN be overcome (I'm hoping someone on here will have that very story).

Anyways...I should be on here for a while...trying to get better.

Absolut100
07-13-2012, 02:09 PM
Welcome!!

I am a professional also with a Bachelor's degree. I too felt like I should be able to overcome this, especially since my education is heavy in Psychology.

I recently started seeing a therapist and we have been exploring my anxiety as it is related to not having a "goal" to achieve. I am very type A personality. From your post it seems that you are at the top of your game. Do you feel like you have nothing else to achieve?

We are also exploring PTSD related to the birth of my daughter. Do you have any past trauma?